A Day For Geeks

Yesterday, my dearies, was a combination holiday for me. May 25 is the (original) Star Wars Day, Geek Pride Day, and Towel Day! Wheeeeee!

Growing up, I was surrounded by awesome nerd culture. My parents both loved sci-fi (my mom more so than my dad), and I was raised on a fairly steady diet of Star Wars, old science fiction movies, and Star Trek (both TOS and TNG). Oh sure, I wanted to be a princess, but only if I got to be Princess Leia. Or her best friend who wound up with Lando (who was a close second to Han Solo for me). Our kids would play together, and we’d all make fun of their whiny Uncle Luke. What could be better?

My dad grew up during the ’50s, so he spent many Saturday afternoons watching the monster movies. His favorites (and mine as well) were the ones featuring “Science! Gone! Wroooonnnnnngggg!!!!” So, as a child, I saw most, if not all, of the Godzilla movies (not to mention any other number of “kaiju” movies). And movies like “Them!” “The Day The Earth Stood Still,” “The Fly,” and “X: The Man With X-Ray Eyes” traumatized him enough that he felt it was his fatherly duty to share them with me (and yes, I know “X: etc” came out in the 60s). Rather than being traumatized (because, seriously, I was 5 and knew how hokey they were), I was instead fascinated. I still think that all scientists are, indeed, mad (mad mad MAAAD!) and regularly request that my science-nerd best friend figure out how to make tiny clone-monster versions of me.

Star Trek was my mom’s thing. And she was an expert. I’m not quite as up on my ST knowledge as she was, but I can still pull the really obscure reference out of my ass if need be. I was in the Challenge program from 2nd grade through high school, when I started taking AP classes, and I remember clearly the first computer animation I created when I was in 3rd grade. I believe we were using Apple 2Es, and saved everything on those gigantic (literally) floppy disks. I created an animation of the Enterprise (I think I created the NCC-1701-A, since “The Voyage Home” was my favorite movie EVAR!) blowing up a Klingon Bird of Prey. Man, I wish I still had that. 

Towel Day is, of course, in reference to The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams. This is something I came to later in life, so it’s not part of my formative years or my creation as a nerd. But it’s still something that’s become a part of my everyday life/conversations (which are riddled with quotes and references to all things pop culture). Also, it presents a pretty good female character in Trillian, which makes me happy.

Granted, this is a very limited scope of geekdom. But for yesterday, it’s pretty good. And relevant to me. So pffft.

Leave a Reply

